Well this is exciting!  After some nice responses to my posts on http://www.mmorpgguide.co.uk, I have decided to jump in with both feet & create my own blogsite.  I have no idea how it will turn out – but I do know who I would like to reach.  I play World of Warcraft, which is an unusual hobby for someone my age, I know, but I am not unique.   I am sure there are others like me out there, and I would love to build a community for those who are taking their first stumbling steps into a world of infinite possibilities, but which sometimes feels alien and unfriendly.

So, why do I play?  Well, I became hooked after spending hours watching my son play.  It seemed to me that Wow did not demand the lightning reflexes of many console games, but neither did it offer the mind-numbing repetition of so-called ‘brain-training’ games.  It allowed me to play at my own pace, it fuelled my imagination, and helped with the social isolation I felt after taking early retirement from my job.

In short, I had found something to do which stimulated my brain, expanded my world, and, in a roundabout way, greatly improved my computer skills.  And it certainly beats sudoku for entertainment value!

So, if you have ever thought of trying an online game, if you have questions you are afraid to ask anyone else, or if you are one of the  ‘oldies’ already playing, I would love to hear from you.

