I got really fed up with the server I was playing on – the starter areas were deserted, and the trade channel was full of people looking for pug raids, with all the associated ‘link gs/ach’.  5-man random heroics were being run by seriously over-geared raiders, and there seemed to be no place for a casual, non-gear-obsessed, low confidence player.

I was invited by a friend to try out a new realm which had recently been changed from PvP to PvE, with a consequent exodus of a lot of high-end players. Out of curiosity, I rolled a priest there to try it out – and what a difference!  Loads of new players in the starter areas, no gearscore spamming in trade, and no lag in Dalaran. I absolutely loved it.

Of course, there was a lack of guilds as many had transferred to another PvP server;  and I had the foolish idea of starting my own guild, aimed primarily at new players.  And so ‘All Things Considered’ was born.  I was absolutely overwhelmed by the numbers of people who wanted to join – both new players and experienced players who, like myself, wanted a fresh start in a more social realm.

To give the fledgling guild some funds, I paid to transfer my lvl 77 shaman to the new server; unfortunately I could not afford to move all my alts, so my paladin, hunter & warlock are languishing on my old server and may never see much action.

And so, to quote Whitesnake, ‘here I go again, on my own’…..well not entirely. In the space of 3 weeks, the guild has grown to 140 members – a mixture of levels, classes, abilities, and nationalities.  Being a rather inexperienced guild leader, I am still getting to grips with the organisational side of things – I know I need to appoint more officers, and devise guild events to keep the Warcraft experience fun for all the members.

It has all taken a lot of my time, but on the plus side I am making new friends, learning as I go, and enjoying the game more than I have for several months.  And the priest?  She is now almost lvl 50, shadow specced, and I am finding it immensely satisfying to fry the brains/melt the faces of anyone in my way.  My hope is that the guild will be a strong, stable unit when Cataclysm launches, with all the changes for guilds which will follow. So far, all things considered, we’re doing pretty well.

