The impending changes to the world of Azeroth have set me thinking.  I now live in a small market town, with shops, doctors, etc. etc.  But for many years I lived in the heart of the countryside, outside a small village, with only one (poorly stocked) shop within reach.  I hated it.  I got depressed; my then husband was working away from home, I could not drive, and had to walk miles every day to get my sons to & from school.

And yet…and yet, there were summer days by a stream, accompanied by cat, dog & pet sheep, watching improbably bright dragon-flies zipping over the water.  There were autumn days, heavy with mist & spiders’ webs, spent picking apples, blackberries, rosehips.  These days more than made up for the days spent cut off from the world by flood-water, or days when the world just seemed a very dark place.

The point I’m trying to make is:  on your travels around the old world of Azeroth,  lift your eyes from the mini-map sometimes and just look at what is around you.  Yes, certain areas are tedious to level through and need to be changed, but they all have their own peculiar beauty, and deserve to be remembered with respect.

