A gaming friend who recently had to leave his guild due to some real-life drama with another member has been talking to me about starting up another guild.  Now, I have done this before, and had great fun doing it – but that was before Cata and the guild levelling system.  I have a feeling the process could be a lot less enjoyable now.

Of course, setting up the basics, getting a charter signed and so on is the easy part.  But attracting members to a level 1 guild? That could be difficult – I’m sure even new players are aware that there are perks to be had from a high level guild, and genuine new players are pretty thin on the ground anyway.

When I started a guild, it was because I rerolled on another server which had just changed from PvP to PvE; there was an influx of similar re-rollers, a shortage of social guilds and members flooded in.  A guild which had been intended for new players ended up full of people with experience who had transferred to the server for the same reasons I had i.e. a less elitist, more sociable environment.

Now, however, there are so many guilds around that its difficult to see how to create a new one offering anything different.  I know my friend suggested the idea to avoid having to search for a new home, and to have some control over the kind of guild he wants.  But I am happy where I am, and trying to spread myself across two guilds would, I think, be very difficult.  So the plan is on the back-burner for now.

Guilds, other than hard-core progressive raid guilds, seem to be in a constant state of flux; their dynamics change as members join, leave, change their priorities etc.  Perhaps some time in the future my current guild will implode, fragment or meet any of the many fates which can befall a casual, mature guild – but until then there is new content to explore (patch day tomorrow!) and current raids to work on in the company of people who share my gaming philosphy and who are just plain fun to be around.

I would not trade that for the transient ego-boost of being a GM again.

