My word there is a lot of speculation going around the WoW blogs at the moment. The news that Blizzard trademarked ‘Mists of Pandaria’ has sparked a maelstrom of differing opinions regarding possible future content; this varies from ‘wish-lists’  of additional classes/races, to the idea of an elaborate hoax/possible Facebook game.

Personally, I hope for new territories to explore, with or without beer-brewing pandas. I’m not convinced Blizz are ready to introduce a new playable class – there has been talk of a ‘support’ class, but I imagine this would be a nightmare to balance with existing abilities.  But new lands, new archaeology (please!) and a new battlefront with less fire and brimstone, that is something I could get excited about.

The other big thought-provoking story is Blizzard’s plan for a real money auction house in Diablo 3.  Now, gaming noob that I am, I have no experience of Diablo, but I believe the game is structured gear-wise in a very different way to Wow; however, this decision makes me uneasy. I can understand some of the reasoning behind it – to make gold-selling ‘legal’ and to remove the gear grind for those who prefer to pay for their shinies; however I cannot shake the thought that this is, at bottom, a money-making scheme.

I believe Blizzard when they say that they have no plans to implement this in WoW – but if it proves to be a huge financial success in Diablo, I’m sure it will be a part of any future games they produce, including, of course, Titan.  The effect of the RMAH on gaming communities has yet to be seen; it is a step into the unknown for developers and players alike, and I am, in a way, relieved that I am only watching from the sidelines.

On a more positive note, I have finally obtained my Globe of Moonlight to go with the Lightforged Elementium Hammer being made for me by a guildie, and I feel I am getting to grips with my new holy healing spec.  My guild has been through a lot of upheaval lately and we are only now picking up the reins of our raid progress. So, I and my newly-dug-up Voodoo Figurine have been achievement hunting, pet-collecting, and generally pottering around trying to be useful. Whilst, of course, wearing our tinfoil hats in case the sky should fall.

