I have had a good week 🙂  My (mostly) guild group finally killed Chimaeron and got the achievement for having only two corpses on the floor, we had a good stab at Atramedes before rl cut things short, and I got my Flameward Hippogryph.  Yes, I know, I’m waaay behind the curve with this stuff, but to me this was a big deal.  I’m still learning to be a raid healer, and the Chimaeron fight was a big test.  Atramedes will be another test of my somewhat erratic movement skills and reaction times, but I’m sure it is do-able, and confidence is a big part of success.

My new mount marks the end of the boring  grind of dailies – at least for now; I may go back to try to get some of the achievements, but for a while at least it will be nice not to feel I ‘ought’ to be doing them.   Bouncing bears and punting turtles is fun for a couple of weeks, and I love the ‘battlefield’ feel of Malfurion’s Breach, but flaming spiders? I’ve had enough, thank you very much.

And then there was the news about transmogrification, which has done wonders for guild interest in running old content; the plans for the new Darkmoon Faire,  which sounds much more like fun than the current version; and, of course, the thought of a final showdown with old Flame-breath himself  to finish off this expansion.

So, its been an interesting and fun time.  I just hope these snippets of future plans are enough to slow the trickle of players I know who have quit the game due to sheer boredom with this expansion.  I hope Blizzard have learnt something from the current patch, i.e. having two long, awkward dungeons at a level where players feel they ‘have’ to run them over and over in order to maximise their valor points, is counter-productive and has caused immense frustration and killed the fun in the game for a lot of players.

Anyway, I’m having a few days of peaceful archaeology and fishing. Half the guild is on holiday so raiding is on hold for a couple of weeks – ‘Limnologist’ and ‘Diggerest’ here I come 🙂

